We Are Rated As Exceeding National Standards

Medowie Gumnut Preschool has been assessed and rated as ‘Exceeding’ National Quality Standards’. What does this mean?

Education and care services across Australia are assessed and rated by their state and territory regulatory authority.

All the approved services are assessed against the seven quality areas of the National Quality Standard.

 1 Educational program and practice Your child is supported to participate in play and learning
2 Children’s health and safety Your child is protected from illness and hazards
3 Physical environment Your child plays in a safe and well maintained environment
4 Staffing arrangements There are enough qualified staff to give your child the attention they need
5 Relationships with children Your child is made to feel supported and welcomed
6 Collaborative partnerships with families and communities Local community involvement and respect for the beliefs and values of families
7 Governance and leadership Your child is cared for in a positive and well managed environment

They are given a rating for each quality area (above) and an overall rating based on these results. You should consider all these ratings when choosing a service

Most services will receive one of the three middle ratings below.

Significant Improvement Required

Service does not meet one of the seven quality areas or a section of the legislation and there is a significant risk to the safety, health and wellbeing of children.

The regulatory authority will take immediate action.

Working Towards National Quality Standard

Service provides a safe education and care program, but there are one of more areas identified for improvement.

Meeting National Quality Standard

Service meets the National Quality Standard.

Service provides quality education and care in all seven quality areas.

Exceeding National Quality Standard

Service goes beyond the requirements of the National Quality Standard in at least four of the seven quality areas.


Service promotes exception education and care, demonstrates sector leadership, and is committed to continually improving.

This rating can only be awarded by ACECQA.

Services rated Exceeding National Quality Standard in all 7 Quality Areas may choose to apply for this rating.

You might also come across a service with the following classification, ‘Provisional – The service has not yet been assessed‘. This is because services are generally allowed 6 months or so after approval prior to being assessed, and during this time they show this rating.

See our checklist on how to spot quality on your first visit to an early childhood service.

If you wish to know more about the Assessment and Ratings process, read our resource on the topic.

Comments are closed.